Indigenous Power of Mentoring Event with Starbucks & Influence Mentoring

When
January 20, 2022 from 5pm to 6:30pm
Eastern Time (UTC-05:00)
Details
Virtual Indigenous Power of Mentoring event

Indigenous Power of Mentoring: A Virtual Career Mentoring Event with Starbucks, Influence Mentoring & Indigenous Young Leaders

January 20th 2-3:30 PT / 3-4:30 MT / 5-6:30 ET / 6-7:30 AT

MENTOR Canada considers all Indigenous Youth as Indigenous Young Leaders; honouring that Indigenous Youth are the future leaders of our communities and respecting the principle of taking care of the next 7 generations.

Indigenous Young leaders, are you interested in expanding your professional network, exploring career pathways, and gathering insights on how other Indigenous and non-Indigenous professionals navigated their path to employment and beyond? 

Please consider joining our Indigenous Power of Mentoring: Focused Connections event!

Starbucks logo png  ​ Influence Mentoring logoIPN logo better quality

Consider joining our Indigenous Power of Mentoring: Focused Connections event!

MENTOR Canada is teaming up with Starbucks Indigenous Partner Network (IPN) and Influence Mentoring to host a virtual event called Indigenous Power of Mentoring: Focused Connections.

Indigenous Power of Mentoring events are focused on building connections, enhancing employment skills, and increasing access to job opportunities for Indigenous Youth, ages 18 - 30.

The Starbucks IPNs mission is to share and celebrate the traditions of our ancestors to increase the impact of Indigenous partners and build stronger connections with our customers and communities. Our aim is to create trusted spaces where everyone can be heard with equality, honesty, and where respectful dialogue is fostered. At Starbucks we believe in equal opportunity and that everyone belongs. That could mean this event creates an opportunity for you to join our team!

The 90-minute event will begin with a facilitated panel discussion with Indigenous employees and partners from Starbucks sharing their career and life journey. Following the chat, everyone will breakout in small group discussions where Starbucks employee volunteer mentors (Indigenous and non-Indigenous), will share with a small group of Indigenous Young Leaders / mentees additional career experiences, insights on how to prepare for and navigate a job search and succeed once hired. This is an opportunity for youth to ask questions, seek advice, knowledge, and information from Starbucks professionals. At the end everyone will reconvene into a large group facilitated discussion and share highlights, and takeaway resources. 

Got questions?

If you have any questions, please contact our Indigenous Engagement Lead Tanya Tourangeau.

Contact Tanya